Studying Tips to Succeed in College (or High School)

Hey y’all! In case y’all didn’t know, I’m a freshman in college. As I was studying for my psychology test, I thought it would be a good idea to share with y’all my study tips on here. So let’s get into it!

Tip #1: Get a planner

I would highly, highly recommend getting a planner. It will help get you organized, especially if you’re busy. I’m have a part-time job and I go to college part-time, I also write on this blog (not as often as I like, but hopefully I can get back into blogging again)! Currently I’m using a bullet journal. I love bullet journalling because it’s very flexible and I can customize it to MY lifestyle. I will be doing a bullet journal blog post very soon for those of y’all who are interested.

Tip #2: Record your lectures

I like recording my lectures in class because sometimes my teachers will talk a lot and has a lot of information I can’t type or write down I can always go home and listen to the recording and revise my notes and make them better when I study.

Tip #3: Flash Cards

If I have a class where there’s a lot of vocabulary or even if there’s questions on the test and they’re short answers I like to study with flash cards. If you don’t like using paper flash cards you can always use StudyBlue.com or Quizlet.com. Get the app on your phone and study on-the-go!

Tip #4: Preview and Review

Preview before class and review after class. If you just finished a section or a chapter, read the next section or chapter before class so you have a decent idea of what you will be talking about in class. Then after class you can review in depth of what y’all talked about. This is a great study skill to have because you won’t have to study a lot because you’re spreading the time out.

Tip $5: Color Coding/Highlighting

Last and final tip is color coding and highlighting. Color coding your notes and highlighting important parts in your notes is a great study tip! If you color code your notes it’s easier to see without being super overwhelmed when you’re studying for finals. It also makes it pretty and somewhat fun to do! I’ve noticed the more colorful my notes are the more I want to look at them.

I hope these tips are helpful and I would love to see what other tips y’all have that work for you!

Blog Signature

Leave a Reply

