Storytime: Why I dropped out of high school and going to community college

Weather you know me in person or you know me through the internet. You know me, but you don’t know my story. Yes, I’m an Asian American with strict, Asian, tiger parents. So, you can imagine, my conversations with my parents wanting to drop out of high school was difficult. Now, I don’t want to sound like a hypocrite, but if you are currently in high school, try not to drop out. I did try. I didn’t want to drop out, but my circumstances made me drop out. I don’t want to say the word “made me” because obviously it was a choice, but I did everything I could to stay. But dropping out didn’t mean I didn’t care about my education. I already made plans to take my GED the moment I drop out. I got my GED in March of 2017 and now I’m currently attending a community college in my town. It was the best decision I have ever made. My path may be different than everyone’s but my goal is the same and that is to go to community college, transfer to a 4 year university and get my degree.

Dropping out of high school was a difficult decision for me. No, it wasn’t because I hated school because who doesn’t hate school? I’ve been bullied since my 6th grade year. Yes, I know everyone get’s bullied, I should suck it up blah blah blah. And I did, I even transferred every year of my high school career. My junior year, I did not realize I had depression until my senior/junior year. I failed English my junior year so I got held back, that’s why I said my “senior/junior” year. In the middle of my senior year, or so I thought,  during Homecoming week the administrators called me into the office and told me I was getting held back. I cried and asked if I could skip Homecoming week and stay at home. They all agreed and told me that was fine. I also got diagnosed with depression while all of this was going on. In December of 2016 I got admitted into a mental/behavior institution. I missed so much school that it was hard for me to catch up. I realized maybe God is telling me this wasn’t the right time to be going to high school. So I talked to my mom about it and she agreed that because I missed too much school and that I might have to get held back again that I should drop out, but I had to promise her that I will get my GED right away or at least try. So I did. Now 9 months later, I got my GED and I’m going to community college. I thought of every possibility and every outcome for every decision I was about to make. Make sure if you are thinking about dropping out to see if it’s in your best interest and you are not dropping out because you hate school. I care about my education and I believe everyone should strive to be the best person they can be and get their education.

P.S. Make sure your mental health comes first. That’s what ultimately helped me decide on whether I should drop out or not. 

Leave a Reply

